“I have found it!”

I did it. I officially created a no-going-back username on Etsy.com. I wanted to see if MoonCake was already taken which, to my deep dismay, it was. Arrrrrgh >:( I thought, “What do I do now???” I felt really attached to that name and decided that anything else I chose would be second-rate. Dinky. Inferior. The replacement. Nevertheless I brainstormed for a bit, playing around with a pile of unrelated words until my yellow note pad was covered in a frightening hairball of two-worded codes.

But then it finally clicked. The words that I didn’t know I was searching for magically fused (like magnetic letters trickling together on a fridge…err what??) Like Archimedes once proclaimed, “Eureka!” And funny because it’s just that – the username I chose is spelt Yoorika (Yoori is taken from my Korean name, Yoory, and I thought it would be fun to play off of the ancient Greek exclamation Εὕρηκα/Ηὕρηκα – Heurēka/Hēurēka meaning approximately “I have found it!”) Which in this case I did. It is a general enough name that I don’t have to stick to just one art form (i.e. making stuffed animals) and it’s a combination of Korean/Greek roots which I think is mighty strange. But I like the sound of it and no one else had used it yet so I went for it! Took it before it could be claimed. Oh the power of names :)

Edit: Any questions or concerns relating to Yoorika can be emailed to shop.yoorika@gmail.com. Thanks!

6 thoughts on ““I have found it!”

  1. Taryn says:

    This reminds me of that time we were all in the study room and you were like, let’s start a band and call ourselves “0.5 Lead!!!” …………………………………………………………*cricket cricket*

    Haha Nah! Yoorika…. Yoorika… I kinda like it. ;)

    Man, this is so frickin awesome. Now I feel like I don’t have to dive into this alone. Have you decided on shipping costs? Did you sign up for paypal yet? I was thinking, you might want to increase your price because… for each item sold, Etsy takes 3.5% of that and if the customer buys using Paypal, paypal takes I think 2.9% + $0.30, per transaction. And of course there’s shipping. But dude, I’ve got this secret shipping cost method that I’ll tell you later. Call me up this weekend or when you have time and we can discuss! :D

    • Hahaha, I totally forgot about that band name!! Oh the things that come out of my mouth…

      That’s right, I completely forgot that PayPal takes a portion too :( Yeah, as I was flipping through the stuffed animal section on Etsy and just looking at the range of prices, I started to consider upping the price (because everyone takes a percentage! Whaa) I think I’ll make it $18? Plus $3 or so for shipping (I might have to mail someone a test Owl just to see how much it really costs…either in a small cardboard box or a bubble envelope. Man, I need to find out your secret shipping method! Excited to hear any way we can save a few cents :D

      P.S. Sorry it’s taking me so long to come up with your logo. Every time I think I have a little bit of time to work on stuff, things come up. Friends going through hard times who need our attention, random dinner plans, taking care of Curie, etc. I haven’t even stitched an owl since the last one and I feel so behind cause I still need to take product shots and some cute style shots with cute props! Ahhhhhhh.

  2. Taryn says:

    Haha! A Test Owl. That’s a good idea. I’ll send you my jewelry to test it out then.

    No worries, I know exactly what you mean. Raul’s super busy with his work and other graphic design projects that he told friends he’d do. Plus he lives all the way in Ewa, so it doesn’t make things easy. So it’s hard to set a day to work on the products pictures. So far, we’ve just done one set of cards. And I can’t exactly take the photos without him cause I don’t know what I’m doing. He’s letting me borrow his old camera, so I can try play around with it, but I’m still clueless as to how to get the lighting right. I just learned that I can’t shoot RAW because I don’t have photoshop on this PC so I have to shoot JPEG. Which I don’t know if image quality really matters with this type of thing, but still. I don’t wanna always ask him to take pictures since I know he’s so busy. This is when I really wish I knew a thing or two about photoshop. And even with the logo, I hate to ask you since I know you’re busy too. -____-;;;

    But yeah, I haven’t even figured out packaging and how I’m going to ship the items. Or the photo stuff for the rest of the cards and plus my jewelry. Plus, I’m waiting for my beads to come in the mail, which I spent $100 on. And I can’t exactly start any new projects without them. Haha I feel like now’s the time to do things since I’m free. And then summer school starts next Tuesday and then Raul’s birthday on July 4. I still don’t know what to get him! >__<;;

    Anyway, I can't wait to see what you come up with! My mom is super stoked that you're helping us out. :)

    • Oh yeah, that does suck that he lives so far away…And I had no idea that his birthday was on July 4! Awesome. Wow beads sure are expensive too…but you will gain all that back with just one or two purchases :D I am so excited for us all…we will accomplish great things! (aka one purchase every two weeks, hahahaha…I wonder how much people generally sell in a month?)

  3. Taryn says:

    OMG I GOT IT. Your next plushie doll should be ALBI THE RACIST DRAGON! You know, Flight of the Conchords. It’ll be great. ;-)

    • Eureka! (or rather…Yoorika…mwahahaha). That is a great idea. And on the hang tag, it will say “Albi, the Racist Dragon. Cause face it…we’re all a little bit racist.” Eh, eh?? :D

Leave a Reply

