Children of Brody

After working at JJ Cole, you will quickly learn that pulling pranks and dares is a norm around the office. I.e. Someone might dare you to eat an entire pepper (home-grown from Missy’s garden) without any water. Someone might even dare you to walk out into the field and slap a bull’s behind for $100 (our office building is, in fact, surrounded by wild life and barn animals). So after a year and a half, I decided to pull off a prank with the help of the design team (plus Andy). Our victim of choice: Brody Holbrook. Brody (aka Mom) is probably the best fabricator of stories; he’s fooled more than one person with his tale of “dog/cow shootings” so I figured he of all people had it coming. Mehehehe.

Our plan? Brody’s got this really sweet photo of all of his five children sitting on his desk you see…

Step 1) Sneakily remove the picture off his desk after he leaves for the day
Step 2) Scan it
Step 3) Take the photo into Photoshop and replace his kid’s faces with our own
Step 4) Print it off, put it in the frame in front of the original and wait to see how long it takes before he notices the change…

BEFORE

AFTER

In truth, Andy, Kellyn, Kyle, Steve and I just really wish we were a part of Brody’s family. He’s just so cool and…..maternal you know? Which is why we designated ourselves as his new children. Now he has ten (five of which are financially independent and mysteriously close of age…one who miraculously ended up being Asian).

Too bad I wasn’t around to see his reaction. Looks like he liked what he saw and decided to keep the picture :)

9 thoughts on “Children of Brody

  1. Raul says:

    Nice. We used to do stuff like that all the time back at MVNP. (a sign that its good place to work.) My bud, Charlie our Sr. Graphic Designer, and I would have little wars back and forth. I’d come in & find my entire box of paperclips was connected in a giant chain. Once I came in and he made a desktop wallpaper of my desktop and hid all my files in a folder called Trash. I would put tape on the bottom of his mouse or pull out the letters on his keyboard and replace “Q.W.E.R.T.Y with my name instead.

    Here’s what one of our older (more seasoned) Sr. graphic designers and I devised when one of our art director’s decided to take an “extended” vacation leaving me with his work to do. It took him 2 days to undo this. To this day, I still don’t think he knew I had any part in it.

    vacation
    wrap

    Guess my experience shrink wrapping palletes at Home Depot was good for something. We shrunk wrapped everything separately, work orders, tray, stapler, his monitor, then we wrapped his keyboard to his monitor, every individual pencil, stuck a blowup doll on his chair and shrunk wrapped that together, then I used the entire roll to shrink wrap his entire desk together. It was awesome!

  2. Taryn says:

    Was your title inspired by a band called Children of Bodom? Hehehe :)

  3. Jasmine says:

    Haha! This is hilarious! I love it though. And his daughters have really nice hair! My friend and I were talking about it and we’re so jealous. It’s crazy!

    By the way, I came across your blog via your latest post on celebrity look-alikes. Awesome post! :)

    • Thank you! They really do have gorgeous hair…I don’t think their mom has the heart to cut it so now it’s down to their waist. And thanks for taking the time to visit thoughtpantry…it’s so (wonderfully) strange to see it on the main page!

  4. linhum says:

    gndfbdf

  5. bookjunkie says:

    you guys are so much fun :)

Leave a Reply

