making the cut (literally)

Six months ago I got my last haircut (June 4 to be exact…the same day we adopted Curie). So today, out of the blue, I decided to get one (when I decide to cut my hair, it’s always spontaneous…and never just a trim). This was my second time going to Serendipity Salon and they always do a fantastic job! I highly recommend Emily Taylor who pays utmost attention to detail. At one point she asked me “What do you think? Do these two sides look even?” I was thinking “Well, the right side is maybe 5 pixels longer” and as soon as I thought that she replied “This side is a teensy bit longer. Let me fix that.” Oh Emily, you could’ve been a graphic designer in another life. I should’ve tipped you more.

Before (ew):

After (I love it!) :

Yes, that is a dressing-room-pose. In Ross. I really hate pictures like this (where girls flaunt themselves in front of mirrors and post 15 very identical mirror shots of themselves up on facebook). So for about 15 seconds, I really hated myself. And I’m not the type that wears strapless dresses either (not even for my wedding…I wore a satin shrug). So that makes this picture doubly unusual (maybe it’s just me, but if you turn 3/4 sideways and prop your shoulder up a bit you look 10 pounds lighter…the fat between my arm and armpit looks less conspicuous). I ended up not buying this dress because $22 is not a good enough clearance for this girl :)

Ladies, when you get a brand new haircut (that you love), does it not just boost your confidence? Makes you wanna buy ten new dresses and a pair of heels to complement all that “newness.” Also something to note: no one knows you like you do so go with your gut instinct. If you have a round face and short forehead like me, for instance, a bob with heavy straight-across bangs might not be the best look. I’m learning to embrace my features and figure out what works and what doesn’t on myself. I also just accepted the fact that I’m a short-hair type of gal. Even though I love the look of long, lush hair (and most men do too…a mystery I’m still trying to grasp) I don’t have the patience for it. It took me many years to accept this piece of information about myself but now it all makes sense. I was never meant to have long hair (with crunchy, dead ends)!

Anyways, if you want to feel fresh and lovely, go to Serendipity on Main. Emily Taylor will “tailor” your hair to your needs. Mehehe.

3 thoughts on “making the cut (literally)

  1. Shannon says:

    Suuuuuper cute cut, Angie! I hope Ben’s not mad that it’s not long anymore. :)

  2. Shannon says:

    Well, you look cute with any type of hair, that’s why!

Leave a Reply

