FU

We went to the Borders closeout sale for the second time last night (a sad sight indeed). While most people nowadays get their books mailed to their doorstep or download them straight to their electronic devices, Borders is wheezing away….trying to empty their shelves one final time with measly 20% discounts. Boooo. I know that the change in consumer habits isn’t the only reason for them filing bankruptcy, but regardless it’s still a bitter end because I have such fond memories of that place. Yeah their books, coffee and CDs were overpriced but it was a cool atmosphere! “A great place to be…just not the best place to buy” is how Quora.com describes it.

I browsed the children’s section of course, flipping through all the classic books of my childhood. I found one that I haven’t seen or thought about in a looong time called The Lion and the Mouse! Does anyone remember that story? It’s up there along with Corduroy , Peach & Blue, Streganona, Caps for Sale, and The Rainbow Fish. Thinking of all these stories…it’s like opening a floodgate of feelings from 1995-1998. Clifford the Big Red Dog and Barenstain Bears have somewhat been replaced by Dora the Explorer, but I think parents will forever cherish the classics and hopefully pass it on to their own kids.

I also found this AWESOME book sitting amidst the calendars…

It’s a journal-type book that helps you cope through difficult days in a creative way. So if you ever wake up on the wrong side of the bed and people at the post office are mean to you or your five bags of groceries suddenly break on the way to the car, here are some things you can do:

And my favorite…

Still on a funny note (Ben pointed this out)…look how sad the romance novel section is. Almost completely full! Probably because of covers like this.

And a book fail…

:)

5 thoughts on “FU

  1. Nic says:

    Sad! I didn’t realize Border’s in Logan was closing down. I’ve spent many hours in there..

    Hilarious about the romance novels!

  2. Em says:

    We have a name for those terrible romance novels. Nickel nasties. And I’m glad you agree, 20% does not compel me to clean your shelves when I can get 60% off any given day at Amazon. Fare thee well Borders, may a Barnes n Nobles fill your shoes!

  3. Shan says:

    Haha, I love that diary-ish book. Just my type.

    Is Little Vampire Women supposed to be like the new Pride and Prejudice and Zombies?

    Also, Berenstein Bears were my favorite!

Leave a Reply

