The Taj Mahal

Yes, I spent Sunday night there. At the Taj Mahal. Maybe not the actual mausoleum in India, but it was pretty darn close.

So this past Sunday was our one year anniversary (wa-hoo!) Ben and I really went all out by having a scrumptious old time at the Olive Garden and renting a room at the Anniversary Inn. What’s the Anniversary Inn you ask? WELL, let me tell ya (I just found out about it less than a year ago). The Inn offers many themed suites for couples that are celebrating special occasions or just want a fun destination (literally). There are funny/romantic themes like Juliet’s Balcony, Nefertiti’s Court, Hawaiian Paradise, King Arthur’s Castle, Oriental Gardens, Pirate’s Paradise, Swiss Family Robinson, Arctic Journey and……….wait for it………Lost in Space. Aluminum-foil shower curtains and a silver spaceship bathroom for the complete experience, no joke.

So many of these were laughable but we just couldn’t see ourselves spending the night with nebula-covered walls or pretend ice blocks (okay, to be completely honest, the Arctic Journey room sounded SO cool, but Ben was thoroughly opposed and probably for good reason….it’s kinda hard to get romantical with penguins and polar bears staring you down). We went with something more elegant – the Taj Mahal.

Quick summary of the suite:
King sized bed. A “waterfall” above the bubbler tub. Elegant golden sink set. 46 inch TV. A grand staircase that rises to the bedroom at the top. Oh you know, just THE MOST LUXURIOUS SUITE EVER! This is the first thing we saw when entering…

We found the complimentary apple cider and cheese cakes to our liking. Those didn’t last long.

And for the grand finale. Look at that bed! I forgot to count the number of pillows, but it rivaled Ross.

Here are much more professional photos that I found online.

But the best part was when Ben gave me my anniversary gift. It was a DVD he made of our wedding day (exactly one year ago, almost to the hour when we started watching it). Our cousin Shannon had filmed the whole thing (bless your heart Shan) and amazingly I hadn’t watched any of it since Sunday. As soon as Ben pressed play I could feel my chest swell up. I started bawling at the part where my older sister gave her speech…..I even bawled when hearing the recessional song because it sounded so beautiful. The hubby really nailed it this time (20 hours of work went into the making!) Thank you babe for the best 1st anniversary. I don’t know how you’ll top it next year!

13 thoughts on “The Taj Mahal

  1. Beth says:

    Ben is so sweet. You’re the loveliest couple ever.

    • Aw thank you Beth! He really is so good to me. I was feeling pretty darn good about the watch I got him…maybe a little too proud of myself…until he whipped out the dvd and I was totally blown away. Put in my place is more like it :)

  2. Shan says:

    That is funny you went there, because my parents were thinking about getting Scott and Caren the Romeo and Juliet-themed room for their first night as a married couple!

    Looks really, really nice.

    • Haha I bet they would’ve loved it! I wonder how Disneyland was…I should drop one of them a wall post. I think all the “Great Love Story” suites are hilarious cause ironically, most of them don’t end well. Romeo and Juliet don’t make it past a week after they elope. The emperor Shah Jahan built the Taj Mahal for his third wife who had died in childbirth (not even his first wifey!) But figures seeing as it was her 14th baby. And the Phantom of the Opera is left with a still-aching heart at the end. Boo (but their tragedies make great rooms!)

      • Shanimal says:

        I must say, I’m a little embarrassed with the recording of your wedding–the talking in the background, how the camera kept swaying, how I didn’t zoom in/out for certain parts, etc, etc. But I guess the memories have more meaning than the actual footage.

  3. jackie says:

    Seriously has it already been a year?!! Man time goes by way to quick. Looks like it was fit for you guys, a king and a queen : )

    P.S. Ang, I am posting your dress post on my blog tomorrow–I love that one!

  4. Angela Faulkner says:

    I can’t believe it’s already been a year since your beautiful wedding. i’m so happy for you guys. haha, yeah the anniversary inn is so cheesy…but kind of fun. i don’t know about those stairs though…having to walk down them in the middle of the night to use the loo…(yes i know, i’m old). you should check out The Providence Inn…it’s all historical and super charming.

    • Thanks Angela! Haha I know…some of the “tropical” rooms at the A.I. are outrageously cheesy (i.e. the Tipi?! Bahaha) I’m checking out the Providence Inn right now and I’m loving what I see! Very charming…totally my type of scenery.

  5. Oh my gosh, that place looks AWESOME!!!! I would totally decorate my house like that if I could.

  6. Missy says:

    Ahh the good old anniversary inn. We spent our wedding night there, and all I really remember was waking up sick in the middle of the night and puking my guts out. Andy still teases me about it! We need to go back :)

Leave a Reply

