Motivational Monday / PEZ

One thing that I wish I collected as a child are PEZ dispensers. You know you’ve made it in life if your face ever ends up on an action figure, movie poster or…a plastic stick that pops out chalky pellets (your face on a milk carton…not so much). Santa Claus and Mickey Mouse were among the first character dispensers, but since 1950 over 1,500 different ones have been created (ranging anywhere from Snoopy to Star Wars to Prince William and Kate). What I would give to walk around the Burlingame Museum of PEZ Memorabilia…kind of a blast into the past where you marvel at rows upon rows of Disney characters, the cast of Wizard of Oz, the Starship Enterprise crew, the Justice League, Hello Kitty, Elvis, Uncle Sam, and so much more! It’s as classic and vintage as Coca Cola or Barbie.

Of all the PEZ dispensers I’ve come across though, this is probably my favorite one.

It even has green pellets to mimic the alien’s acid. I liked it so much that it motivated me to come up with some of my own PEZ concepts (drawings by yours truly)…

It would also be cool to have a PEZ dispenser of Tim Gunn, but instead of popping out candy pellets he would dispense a fashionable handkerchief ;)

9 thoughts on “Motivational Monday / PEZ

  1. zoesays says:

    I really loved the Anne Boleyn idea (you can seriously draw!). Second to that is the Tim Gunn PEZ dispenser idea. And the Alien dispenser gives me the willies – it’s too accurate a representation!

  2. Thank you! Yes, that alien is dang creepy (not sure if I’d want to eat from it) but I’m such a huge fan of the movies!

  3. Loni H says:

    Very cool angella! I love that you made your own.

  4. Shan says:

    Crap, and I thought Scott had a huge collection of PEZ. Noooooo. Turns out he only has, like, 100/1500, which means that he only has 6% of ’em.

    Oh, and your ideas are genius. Maybe you could send ’em in to PEZ and ask if they’ll use ’em, and then they will and then you can have your ideas transformed into reality!

    • Scott has a hunrdred?! 0_0 *internet clap* That’s it, I have to start my collection immediately. The nice thing is that they don’t take up as much space as my Beanie Babies (my poor mom is mailing those to me a group at a time…I think I had 115).

  5. Missy says:

    Love the Anne Boelyn, I would totally buy that!

  6. Missy says:

    Love the Anne Boleyn, I would totally buy that!

Leave a Reply

