Motivational Monday: Green Living

Lately I’ve been feeling like I have a responsibility as an artist to create purposeful art (i.e. eco-friendly propaganda that encourages us to conserve energy and heal the earth, things like that). Yesterday I stumbled across a website called The Victory Garden of Tomorrow which provided just the motivation I needed. Joe Wirtheim has been creating garden and chicken posters since 2005 that educates us on resourcefulness and “America’s ambition to enter a better future.” It’s truly amazing how Joe does pro-bono work for organizations that wouldn’t normally be able to afford good design. And let me tell ya, good design is so important especially in situations like this because we all know that people are naturally drawn towards beautiful things and the effectiveness of these posters ride on aesthetics (yeah yeah, I tried to make a pun just now).

So I created some environmental posters of my own (starring Hipster Joe, a character I made up in honor of Joe Wirtheim) highlighting six things that each of us can do to reduce global warming. I derived all of the text and information from here. I had SO much fun with this project and I feel like I finally created something that broadcasts a strong message. These are things that I want to apply to my own life (easier said than done as we all know) but I’m glad I can at least use this art as a launching pad for improving my bad human habits.

I may or may not create more for this series since About.com lists ten. Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: Green Living

  1. Beth says:

    You’ve always been an inspiration to me, because you’re so creative.

  2. bestindubai says:

    Nice.. keep updated..

  3. These are so great Angella! The love the design and really love the concept! Keep it up!

  4. clarkbecca says:

    Angella, you are a genius. I seriously love these.

  5. Raul says:

    Sheesh, no matter how stressed or frustrating the day’s been, whenever I check your blog I get this sudden urge to start doodling, fingerpainting or just watch an episode of the Simpsons & laugh my head off. The point being: your blog makes me happy & makes me want to create something never seen before. Keep it up, yo.

    • Aw thanks Raul! That is a maaajor compliment. I always wanted to start a blog with the intention of making people happy (even if the only person reading is myself and it turned into sad online diary, ha) so this is wonderful to hear.

  6. jackie says:

    so cute angella. I miss angella art! I would say “come back” (to work), but guess what? Today was my last day!!!

Leave a Reply

