Lucky Finds

It’s been forever since my last post! My excuse? I’ve been super busy with work and personal life (wah wah waaaah). But it’s true! Our cousins were over this past week and we had an amazing time showing them around Seattle. Luckily for us, Scott and Caren also have an affinity for books, so naturally we hunted down as many used book stores as possible. My recommendations if you’re ever around this area…

Twice Sold Tales in Capitol Hill

Not only has this bookstore been around since the 80’s, but upon entering you’ll be greeted by three or more fatty-fat cats and a very eccentric store keeper who can (and will) recite Shakespeare to you with theatric passion (also her hair was amazing…it deserves its own zip code). The store was surprisingly large and housed all sorts of genres. You’ve got the usual surplus of Angela’s Ashes, an impressive collection of Frank Herbert’s Dune, the untouched cooking section, and glass cases that showcase the classics like Mark Twain, Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Melville and the rest of the AA club locked away lest you want to pay a hefty buck for that vintage touch (AA = awesome authors). Also here’s a picture I found online of that really enormous black and white cat – Cow Cat. It looked bigger on Caren’s camera.

Half-Priced Books on Belmont Avenue, Capitol Hill

This is probably the best half-priced book store we ever went to just because of the sheer size. The prices for children’s books could be a little cheaper, but I did find Jumanji illustrated by Chris Van Allsburg (also known for The Z was Zapped, The Garden of Abdul Gasazi and Zathura) and A Porcupine named Fluffy, both in hardcover. I’ve become a bit of a children’s book snob, avoiding paperbacks whenever possible and only buying the best illustrated or most memorable books (i.e. Caldecott Medal or Honor) I will talk more about that soon in a later post!

Once Sold Tales in Kent

So this place is impossible to find unless you know the exact address. It’s behind a network of warehouses all the way out in the boonies, but when you DO find it…oh boy. What a treasure. It’s an outlet/warehouse that houses over half a million books. The best part is that they have an online inventory, so you can search for books by title/author and have it delivered to you, FREE SHIPPING. No joke. You can order a hardcover children’s book in fairly good condition for $3.85 + tax – that’s it! Pretty sure this offer is good for anyone in the states but you might wanna check their site. I purchased Leo Lionni’s Fish is Fish, Don Freeman’s Corduroy and Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar all hard cover. Sooooo excited!

Going on a tangent/book spiel here, but last night I found even MORE books at Value Village and Half-Priced Books in Tukwila which include Graem Base’s The Eleventh Hour, A Curious Mystery, Margery Williams’s The Velveteen Rabbit, David Wiesner’s Tuesday, Jacqueline Briggs Martin’s Snowflake Bentley, Donald Hall’s Ox-Cart Man, Dr. Seuss’s The Cat in the Hat, and Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man and other Fairly Stupid Tales all in hard cover. I repeat – all in hard cover. WOO! I’ve made a wishlist of children’s books on Google Docs to help me keep track of what I have and don’t have.

Summary: I got lucky and scored me some pretty awesome books on St. Paddy’s Day (or this whole week for that matter). The search continues – I hope it never ends!

7 thoughts on “Lucky Finds

  1. Cassie says:

    I’ve never been to Seattle, but I’m always on half-priced books online. I also REALLY want to go to Open Books – the biggest poetry bookstore nationwide I believe. If you go there and take photos – send me a link!

  2. Missy says:

    you should link to your list, i want to see it!

  3. Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great content on our site.
    Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

