Back!

Soooo…I realize it’s been a while since my last post. I’m sorry. Truly. I’ve become one of THOSE bloggers who was on a good streak for weeks/months/years but got distracted by life/living and relapsed. Then of course I try to make up for it with a great “I’m back!” entry and promises of never leaving you again but we both know that’s a filthy lie. Well, what’s my excuse hmmm? Why have I been so busy???

May 24-27

Ben and I attended our first BIG concert event – the Sasquatch! Music Festival at the Gorge Amphitheater. We camped four days (a 30 minute walk from the Gorge) and watched/drooled over/cried over/danced to the following bands: Macklemore, the XX, Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Arctic Monkeys, Imagine Dragons, Dropkick Murphys, Capital Cities and of course MUMFORD & SONS! There were many more. You know you’re camping when you progressively drink beer earlier in the day (until one day you have beer for breakfast at 8:30) and you wear less and less makeup. By day 4 you look like the saddest, dirtiest, most primitive monkey-of-a-man even a mother couldn’t hug. Ahhh, but the music was divine! Thank you Anne, Rob and Derek for the unforgettable experience (we have Lumineers coming up in September!)

 

May 28

We closed on a house. Yup, no biggie. Just bought a crib with a great yard after an 8-month search that started in October 2012. After looking at 88 homes (that second “8” is not a typo) we thought number 85 was pretty cool so we put a ring on it. Or rather signed a hundred documents with blood which is kind of like when a dog marks its spot. OURS! INVESTMENT! CASA! ADULTHOOD! There’s a lot of work ahead but Curie & Voltaire love their new yard and mama loves her new hard wood floors :)

945410_10151619586222370_203468035_n

942268_10151619614147370_719781967_n

247788_10151619610822370_2006939364_n

487449_10151619615537370_884203563_n

968862_10151619614842370_1889148893_n

June 6

I turned 26. And wore (stick) antlers to celebrate! Office theme was imaginary creatures and I was spoiled rotten by all my friends, family and Ben.



June 26 or 27

I found it. One of the more popular children’s books that I’ve been looking for on bargain shelves. Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are is now sitting on my “new” book shelf (which I bought off of Craigslist) devoted almost entirely to my children’s book collection. It’s not a perfect copy – definitely a veteran of another kid’s childhood – but for $0.69 I can’t complain.

So that’s the gist of the past couple months! I think we both know what’s next. House beautification (I already painted my art room Montpelier Ashlar Grey and bought 3 pieces of furniture), long nights of Craigslisting (funny cause that’s where I bought those 3 pieces of furniture), weeding and gardening the new front/back yards (which I’ve already used to make bouquets of flowers), multiple trips to Michaels for DIY projects, etc. This is a dangerous time folks. A dangerous time…for my WALLET! Which is precisely why I love that Michaels coupon ap…40% off any one regular priced item. You know what I’m talking about.

Stay tuned :)

Leave a Reply

