Mount.

Remember I promised to show you what was in the blue box a few weeks ago? It rhymes with cantaloupe. It’s smaller than a motorboat. Harder to find than an isotope. Horned like a goat. Always in fighting mode. Its milk is rumored to be an antidote. Lure it with whiskey before it hops over a slope.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Behold, I’mma Jackalope!

 

Image

Image

Image

 

 

It was a birthday gift from Ben. Purchased from DIGS which is an artsy fartsy furniture & decor shop in Ballard (no mythical animals were harmed in the making of this head mount). I found the frame at Vallue Village ($3.99!) and painted it white. The Jackalope art in the upper left corner was painted by my friend Erin Malaspino who gave it to me as a birthday gift back in June!

 

You might ask “Why the fascination with jackalopes?” Ahh, you see. My co-workers and I are fascinated with this thing called power animals. Each person has it – an animal or even insect that best embodies their character. Sometimes your power animal is very obvious while other times it takes a few months to figure out. I’ve been dubbed a few different things such as the Pika  and even the curious looking Venezuelan Poodle Moth. But the creature I felt most connected to was the jackalope.  A fearsome critter of North American folklore that has the uncanny ability to mimic any sound including that of the human voice (creeeeepy). I do like to repeat what people say and mumble eerie tunes under my breath. Also I’m kind of like a rabbit, born in the year of a rabbit with a temperament like a rabbit, but a little more strange. That’s where the antlers come in :)

 

Do YOU have a power animal? If so, what is it and why?

 

Leave a Reply

