The Nook.

The one thing I’ve always wanted was to have my very own art room (perhaps one day a studio but an art room is a dang good place to start!) Just a few weeks ago, my vision came to life. It’s not a large room – pretty small actually – but I finished painting and decorating it (well, the perfectionist in me says it can use a few more tweaks). This is a space I can call my own that houses all of my crafts and children’s books. I absolutely adore it. I just wish I had something better than a half broken point-and-shoot camera to do this space justice!

Image

Image

Wooden desk with hutch – Craigslist – $50

Image

Wall shelf – Vallue Village – $10 or less

Deer figurines – Somebody’s Attic thrift shop in Logan, UT – $10

5×7 print by Hidden Eloise

 

Image

Image

Ivory shelf/knick-knack holder – antique mall – $40

Owl Piggy Bank by Kikkerland – Fireworks (gift store) – $20

Blue & white teapot – Vallue Village – $5.99

Image

Black bookshelf – Craigslist – $40

Image

Image

Here’s the ceramic whale I (barely) painted! I’m sorry I forgot to take pictures of my friends’ finished pieces :( Still deciding what to put in him. I bought the wooden crate thing at Vallue Village for $3.99 and painted it turquoise. Initially I wanted it to hold jars of flowers so I drew a bee design on the front. Now it holds greeting cards.

Image

Here’s the wall/shelving/closet unit that I painted white. The overall color scheme of my art room is black, white and grey. You can see the “before” picture below (the handles I spray painted a dark metallic charcoal). The sliding doors were tricky to paint because I laid them down on the (rather small) art room floor so I had to tip toe around it without dripping paint everywhere.

Image

Image

Image

And finally! Black end table/book shelf/magazine rack – antique mall – $18

Ivory candle holder – Value Village – under $10

Voila!

Leave a Reply

